WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

REGULAR SESSION, 1978

ENROLLED

Committee Substitute for HOUSE BILL No. 764

(By Mr. See and Mr. Milleson)

PASSED March 6, 1978 In Effect <u>ninety days from</u> Passage C 641

ENROLLED

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

FOR

H. B. 764

(By MR. SEE and MR. MILLESON)

(Originating in the House Committee on the Judiciary)

[Passed March 6, 1978; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact section three, article one, chapter fifty-two of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, relating to jury commissioners for petit juries; provided that persons who have previously been appointed jury commissioners are eligible for reappointment if their appointments are not for consecutive terms; and providing that a jury commissioner in a Class V, Class VI or Class VII county, as defined in section three, article seven, chapter seven of the code, shall be eligible to succeed himself for one additional four-year term.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That section three, article one, chapter fifty-two of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

ARTICLE 1. PETIT JURIES.

- §52-1-3. Jury commissioners; appointment and qualifications; term; removal; vacancies; compensation; oath; powers and duties generally.
 - 1 There shall be two jury commissioners of the circuit court of

Enr. Com. Sub. for H. B. 764] 2

2 each county. They shall be of opposite politics, citizens of good 3 standing, residents in the county for which they are appointed, 4 and well-known members of the principal political parties 5 thereof; the chairman of a political party shall be ineli-6 gible to appointment, and no jury commissioner, after having 7 served four years, shall be eligible to succeed himself in such office: Provided, That a jury commissioner in a Class 8 9 V, Class VI or Class VII county, as defined in section three, article seven, chapter seven of this code, shall be eligible for 10 appointment to succeed himself for one four-year term in such 11 12 office.

Jury commissioners shall be appointed by the circuit court,
or the chief judge thereof, of their respective counties. The
terms of office shall be four years and shall commence on the
first day of June following appointment.

17 Those jury commissioners appointed by the circuit court 18 or the chief judge thereof, in office when this section takes 19 effect, shall continue in office unless removed, until the ex-20 piration of their respective terms of office, and their successors 21 shall be appointed, as aforesaid, alternately, so that a period 22 of two years shall intervene between the dates when the terms 23 of office of the two commissioners shall begin and expire.

Jury commissioners may be removed from office by the circuit court, or the chief judge thereof, for official misconduct, incompetency, habitual drunkenness, neglect of duty or gross immorality. Vacancies caused by death, resignation or otherwise shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointments.

Jury commissioners shall receive as compensation for their services, while necessarily employed, an amount to be fixed by the judge of the circuit court, or the chief judge thereof, in accordance with rules of the supreme court of appeals, which shall be payable out of the state treasury upon orders of the circuit court or the chief judge thereof.

36 Before entering upon the discharge of his duties, a jury 37 commissioner shall take and subscribe, before the clerk of the 38 circuit court, who is hereby authorized to administer the same, 39 an oath, to be filed and preserved by him in his office, to the 40 following effect:

41 State of West Virginia,

42 County of _____, to wit:

Enr. Com. Sub. for H. B. 764] 4

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.

Chairman Senate Committee

uland. Chairman House Committee

Originated in the House.

Takes effect ninety days from passage.

Clerk of the Senate

NaBlankenst

Clerk of the House of Delegates

President of the Senate

Speaker House of Delegates

this the 24 The within Mana day of _____ ., 1978. Governor C-641

APPROVED AND SIGNED BY THE GOVERNOR

Date March 24, 1978

RECEIVED Mar 11 1 40 PM '78 OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

с П С

 \bigcirc

OTATE

TT:

MAR 29 h. A OFVEL

 ∞

O

45 Q7

ف ∞